(Matthew 16:24; Luke 14:33; John 12:26, 15:8; 1 Peter 2:21)

Today, I want to share with you a very special message on what it means to be a follower of Jesus Christ. I was sitting in my office, and in one of those quiet reflective moments alone with the Lord was asking Him to fill me afresh with His Spirit. Moments later I was checking my email before heading to the gym for my daily workout when an email caught my eye. It was from someone who said that the message below reminded him of me. As I read the words he sent, I was mesmerized by the words I was reading. When I finished, I was sitting all alone in the quiet of my office and tears were streaming down my cheeks. I remember asking the Lord to please, let this be me today, tomorrow, and forever!!!

I want to share those powerful words with you today. I have researched their origin. While numerous people have claimed authorship, it is apparent that the author of these powerful words is unknown. They were most likely penned by a martyred missionary in Zimbabwe or an African pastor who gave his life for the faith. I want to you to do me a favor and stop whatever you are doing. NO MULTITASKING! Turn off the TV, the radio, your cell phone, your Blackberry. If you are in your office, tell everyone to leave you alone for a few minutes and lock the door. If you are at home, make sure you have a few moments of complete peace and quiet. Wherever you may be reading this, stop everything and fully concentrate on the words I am going to share with you today.

I’ve separated this into 16 powerful thoughts. Take each one separately and meditate on what it means and how it applies to you. These 16 thoughts pretty well sum up all I have written to you over the course of these past 140+ months. They define what I have challenged you each day to become as a follower of Jesus Christ. I am having a copy made for my home and office. I want to read these words EVERY DAY to remind myself who I am, and who I am supposed to be as follower of Jesus Christ. Please, read these words, meditate on them, and let them bless you today as they have so richly blessed me.

Author Unknown

“I’m a part of the fellowship of the unashamed. The die has been cast. I have stepped over the line. The decision has been made.

I’m a disciple of His and I won’t look back, let up, slow down, back away, or be still.

My past is redeemed. My present makes sense. My future is secure.

I’m done and finished with low living, sight walking, small planning, smooth knees, colorless dreams, tamed visions, mundane talking, cheap living, and dwarfed goals.

I no longer need preeminence, prosperity, position, promotions, plaudits, or popularity.

I don’t have to be right, or first, or tops, or recognized, or praised, or rewarded.

I live by faith, lean on His presence, walk by patience, lift by prayer, and labor by Holy Spirit power.

My face is set. My gait is fast. My goal is heaven.

My road may be narrow, my way rough, my companions few, but my guide is reliable and my mission is clear.

I will not be bought, compromised, detoured, lured away, turned back, deluded or delayed.

I will not flinch in the face of sacrifice or hesitate in the presence of the adversary.

I will not negotiate at the table of the enemy, ponder at the pool of popularity, or meander in the maze of mediocrity.

I won’t give up, shut up, or let up until I have stayed up, stored up, prayed up, paid up, and preached up for the cause of Christ.

I am a disciple of Jesus!

I must give until I drop, preach until all know, and work until He comes.

And when He does come for His own, He’ll have no problems recognizing me. My colors will be clear!”

I love you and care about you so much. Please let this message encourage you and challenge you to be a true follower of Jesus Christ. As you read these words over and over, let the Holy Sprit convict you of those areas you need to do a better job in as a follower of our Lord. I pray that this will be a sentinel moment in your walk with the Lord. If you ever wanted to see a description of what it means to be a follower of Jesus, this is it. I can promise you one thing, if you will work hard each day to become a living example of what each one of these words describe, the world will never doubt who you belong to! I challenge you today to let these words describe YOUR LIFE as a follower of Jesus Christ!

In His love and service,
Your friend and brother in Christ,
Bill Keller

(C)opryright 2011, Live Prayer Church, Inc. All Rights Reserved.